A Candle Jar and Servants

Mosaic Candle Container, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.
“For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve…” Mark 10:45
“Be devoted to one another in brotherly love; give preference to one another in honor.” Romans 12:10

The recent comments of Aisha and Kevin have prompted me to write about being a servant, about this beautiful glass jar– a mosiac creation designed to hold a candle– and about Tiffany Grogan. Tiffany Grogan is the epitome of a servant. Let me tell you about her.

She is a young minister’s wife, who lives in Tulare, and, during the women’s conference in February she was assigned to be my hostess. She called me more than once before the conference began, wanting to know exactly when we were coming so she would be sure to be at the hotel when I arrived. When Jerry and I pulled unto the hotel portico, here she came, a beam of sunshine. She had already checked us into our room, had my badge ready, and was holding a large hospitality basket. She scurried us up to our room, presented me with gifts, little notes, and her telephone number in case I needed anything.

Then drawing something from her bag, she said, “Do you like candles?”

“Yes, I love candles.”

Pictured above is the image of the candle-holder she then placed on the desk, and over which she now hovered. Tears startled my eyes as I stood there, for she was the picture of a servant, and I knew she was doing all this…for me. She was serving me. She struck the match, worried it around until the flame caught, then stood back and smiled.

“It’s mulberry…and here are some extra tea lights.”

Throughout the conference she checked on me, and waited on me.

“Do you need anything, Sister Buxton?”

“Do you need water?”

“Here’s Kleenex. You may need that.”

“You have my phone number. Please call if you need anything.”

“Shall I walk you to the reception, tonight? What about breakfast?…”

Kevin Hopper, Aisha Buxton and Tiffany Grogan all have it right: We are to be servants. We are to serve others, especially we who are leaders, especially we who have been handed over the care of tender souls, especially we to whom younger and less schooled ones may gaze. Tenderly and thoughtfully and humbly will we care for those about us.

Thank you, Tiffany. Thank you for your serving ways, your love, your tender honor, for candles and Kleenex, for cookies and Certs and bottles of water. Thank you for a fresh lesson, that last February within the halls of the Marriott in Visalia you silently and eloquently taught.

_______________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Service, Church, Devotionals, Friendship, God, Humility, Love, Love of God, Mark, Pentecostal, religion, Romans, Travel, Word of God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Candle Jar and Servants

  1. helenl says:

    What a beautiful tribute to Tiffany, who was merely completing her assignment, which was to serve you as though she were serving Jesus.

Leave a Reply

