The Mocking of Sin

I have been startled at developments in our country during the last few days.

1. Senator Obama defends his pastor–a pastor who is a racist, calls Israel a “bad word,” curses in the pulpit, tells blatant lies, and says repeatedly, God d– America.

2. Eliot Spitzer, governor of New York, resigns in disgrace after it was revealed that he was involved in a prostitution ring.

3. Replacement Governor of New York, David Paterson, on the day after he is sworn in, admits to multiple affairs.

4. Ex New Jersey governor, Jim McGreevey, confesses to 3-way sex–with another man and with his wife.

My head was spinning after following all these stories. And then I read that some people down in Macon, Ga. have decided this business of Spitzer calls for a party, that everyone is invited, and that they are handing out prizes, and are planning a big time of celebration. It appears that very serious infractions against God, families and against the laws of the land are to be honored with levity and frivolity. As I read this abysmal news, I recalled the column I wrote a few days ago recounting God’s admonition to detest sin, to abhor it, and even to avoid the very appearance of evil. Sin is not cute or funny, I concluded in that column. It certainly should not call out parades and confetti and party hats. This is disgusting, and I find such antics un-amusing.

From Fox News:

Disgraced New York Gov. Eliot Spitzer is on his way out of the governor’s mansion, but he already has been offered a gig with a minor league baseball team.

The Macon Music team in Macon, Ga., announced it will host “Eliot Spitzer Night” on June 13, and it claims it has invited Spitzer himself to come on down and throw out the first pitch.

The team has apparently thought this through.

On its Web site, the Macon Music — part of the independent South Coast League — is offering a slate of minor league gimmicks tailored to the latest headlines out of New York. Spitzer announced his resignation Wednesday amid accusations that he paid for the services of a high-priced call girl in Washington, D.C.

Among the highlights on Eliot Spitzer Night:

“Client #9 (or fan #9) will receive a free Music prize pack,” the team says on its Web site.

“Any fan with the name Eliot, Spitzer, or ‘Kristen’ along with any fan from New York will receive $1 off admission.” Kristen is how the call girl is identified in investigative documents.

“ATMs will be available for cash withdrawals not to exceed $5,000 per hour,” the team says.

It may seem funny now, and it may appear that those who mock sin and who mock God and who disregard holiness and righteousness are none the worse for their stance. I suggest we not be fooled, for God’s Word speaks clearly:

“…Be not deceived, God is not mocked, for whatsoever a man soweth, that shall he also reap.” Galatians 6:7

and here:

“For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life through Jesus Christ our Lord.” Romans 6:23

Payday surely comes. Earned wages inevitably will be paid. There will be no mocking on that day, no defense, no arrogance, no derision.

I don’t always do it just right, I falter, make mistakes, even sow in the wrong field at times, but…I’m determined, I discipline myself and frequently do I check the seed within my hand and the ground beneath my feet. For on that eternal payday, that shuddering judgment day, I have a steely resolve to be standing in God’s holy and blood-washed line.

_______________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christianity, Devotionals, Fallen Man, Family, Galatians, Offenses, Preaching/Preachers, religion, Romans, Word of God and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Mocking of Sin

  1. helenl says:

    I’m confused. “1. Senator Obama defends his pastor–a pastor who is a racist, calls Israel a “bad word,” curses in the pulpit, tells blatant lies, and says repeatedly, God d– America.”

    What lies did Wright tell? And does defending a person mean agreeing with his every word? Obama said he did not agree with Wright’s statements, and yet he refused to throw him to the wolves. Since when has loyalty to a friend been sinful, such that it would be considered “mocking God.”

    That’s as bad a non-charismatic Christians saying Pentecostals are demon possessed, which I have heard said.

  2. Shirley says:

    Hi, Helen.

    Most people agree that the following statements of Pastor Wright’s statements are false–and inflammatory.

    1. America is the number 1 killer in the world.
    2. America started the AIDS virus.
    3. America makes sure that third world countries live in grinding poverty.

    I have not said that “loyalty to a friend (is) sinful,” nor that such is mocking God.

    I referred to mocking God following the article that refers to the Eliot Spitzer Night, in which it seems his actions are to be celebrated. I do believe that is mocking God.

  3. helenl says:

    Thank you for clearing that up, Shirley.

    I think 1-3 in you comment above were not to be taken literally. The jokes about Spitzer are disgusting and, yes, sinful. Obama defending a friend in a bad time is commendable. I just wondered why you listed them together.

  4. Kevin Hopper says:

    Shirley, I feel that the articles that you have brought forth are disgusting. I too realize that there is a payday coming. It scares me to think about what can happen to these people.

    I am surprised that parents would take their kids to a game in Macon Ga. that promotes this type of lifestyle. I don’t know what people are thinking these days.

  5. dean says:

    Helen, I am wondering ….. if it was said from the pulpit, taped knowingly, applauded by the congregation…. but it was not to be taken literally? come on…..

  6. helenl says:

    Dean, Not all Christians take the Bible literally. Yet they speak of creation as though it took place in a literal six days. They speak of of the virgin birth as though the word didn’t mean a young woman. All Christians use powerful deliveries to make their point. See what I mean?

  7. dean says:

    No Helen, I think you do not understand what I said!! I spoke of the Right Reverend Wright spewing hatred and bigotry from the pulpit. In instances 1-3 above, If the Pastor of that church didnt want to be taken “literally”, then I am sure there are other tapes that have his sermon material quantified, qualified and separated, as to what is literal and true or what is false and hate filled. See what I mean?

Leave a Reply

