Don’t Say Nothing

It’s scribbled on a torn off portion of blue paper, and it’s my writing, although I have no recollection of making the note. The words are powerful, and, according to my notation, were spoken by my friend, Laquita Mullings.

“When you don’t have anything interesting or important to say, don’t let anybody persuade you to say it.”

Isn’t that great. Clamp shut our little mouths and gulp down the silly words.

Solomon thought this was a good subject and writes about it quite a bit, including these in Proverbs 15:2.

“The tongue of the wise useth knowledge aright; but the mouth of fools poureth out foolishness.”

And here in Proverbs 13:3

“He that keepeth his mouth keepeth his life; but he that openeth wide his lips shall have destruction.”

If I practice what I preach, it may be pretty quiet around here today. 🙂

_______________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, Proverbs, religion, Word of God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Don’t Say Nothing

  1. tommyjoe says:

    I’ve got quite a bit to say about this entry (NOT). I’m laughing over here. Mom says, “My grandma once said, ‘If you don’t have anything nice to say about anyone, don’t say anything at all.'” I like the verse “Even a fool, when he holdeth his peace, is counted wise: and he that shutteth his lips is esteemed a man of understanding.” Pro 17:28

  2. Shirley says:

    Tommyjoe, your scripture is a great one. Thanks for it.

  3. writeathome says:

    Just as Mom and Tom above, I thought of the words of my grandmother as I read this post. Here’s something we can pray from Scripture concerning when we should or shouldn’t open our mouth.

    Psalm 141:3 Set a watch, O LORD, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.

    Sometimes hopefully not intentionally, we offend people with our words, but I would like my words to be like those mentioned in Proverbs 25:11, fitly spoken, like apples of gold in pictures of silver.

    Love you,

    Carol

  4. marlajayne says:

    Although I haven’t counted them, I know that there are dozens of scriptural references related to speech. The standard works remind us to speak kind words to each other, and conference addresses often refer to the power of words and the tone in which they’re spoken. A favorite scripture of mine is Proverbs 15:1: “A soft answer turneth away wrath but grievous words stir up anger.”

  5. Laquita Mullings says:

    Hello Dear Friend.

    I just came across this while I was looking for something else. Isn’t the internet amazing? Another little quote I read somewhere that bears repeating is, “If your talking about me, I hope you’re on your knees.” Our name should be safe in each others mouth.

    Love you.

    You have always been an inspirition to me, and I Believe in You.

    Laquita Mullings

Leave a Reply

