“Nothing Grows There,” Shirley

“For my people have committed two evils; they have forsaken me the fountain of living waters, and hewed them out cisterns, broken cisterns, that can hold no water. “Jeremiah 2:13

It was during an international call from Chile that I first heard of the Atacama Desert. I was astonished.

“In some spots in the desert, Shirley,” Junior said, “It has not rained in at least a hundred years.”

“It what?”

I hate to admit it for I am incredibly ignorant of too many things, but I don’t recall every learning of this desert, and here it is the driest portion of ground in the world. When I began reading about the area, I found it to be just as Junior had said, and its dryness is even more profound than he had suggested.

Facts: These incredibly dry mountains see an average of less than .004 inches/.01cm of rain per year. Many times this area will go without rainfall at all for many years. Some places in the Atacama Desert have not had rainfall for over 400 years!

From extremescience.com

“Nothing grows,” Junior emphasized this past weekend as we drove through our desert area, which is ablaze with flowers of yellow and purple and white.

“Nothing grows in the Anacama desert. Not an insect, not a plant…nothing.”

As he spoke, I thought of the ever- present and distinct parallel between the physical world and the spirit of man. Just as nothing will grow in the earth without the cooling nourishment of water, so in our souls, nothing of the spirit will grow without that same washing. A seed may have been planted, but without water, only will come a hardening and a dead shrivel.

I haven’t done an extensive study on water in the Bible, but I’ve done a little, would like to share it with you, and hear anything you wish to add.

Water in the Bible:

1. Signifies the Word of God

“That he might sanctify and cleanse it with the washing of water by the word.” Ephesians 5:26

“Wherewithal shall a young man cleanse his way? by taking heed thereto according to thy word.” Psalm 119:9

2. Signifies cleansing

“Then will I sprinkle clean water upon you, and ye shall be clean: from all your filthiness, and from all your idols will I cleanse you. Ezekiel 36:25

“Repent and be baptized everyone of you in the name of Jesus Christ, for the remission of sin, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.” Acts 2:38

3. Signifies the infilling of the Holy Ghost

“God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the LORD JEHOVAH is my strength and my song; he also is become my salvation. Therefore with joy shall ye draw water out of the wells of salvation.” Isaiah 12:2-3

“He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water. (But this spake he of the Spirit, which they that believe on him shall receive: for the Holy Ghost was not yet given: because that Jesus was not yet glorified.” John 7:38-39

Nothing grows in that desert, he had told me. Nothing. Not a cactus, a hint of a flower, nor an insect. Nothing grows there.

I cannot allow that to happen in my spirit, in my soul, for such barrenness, such desolation, and unfruitfulness is mean and ugly. Deadly.

One last scripture, though…one of my favorites.

“Ho, every one that thirsteth, come ye to the waters, and he that hath no money; come ye, buy, and eat; yea, come, buy wine and milk without money and without price.” Isaiah 55:1

Love it!

____________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Acts, Baptism, Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, Ephesians, Ezekiel, God, Isaiah, Jesus, Psalms, religion, Travel, Word of God and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Nothing Grows There,” Shirley

  1. dean says:

    “SHOWERS OF BLESSINGs WE NEED….” I think just a little would be in order! Less than.004 inches a year? Peace

    Dean, those showers are wonderful. However, do you remember the great, drenching rains?

  2. Kevin Hopper says:

    Awesome post! A great parallel to our spiritual life as well. I wonder what our ground (spiritual soil) looks like in Gods’ eyes?

    Kevin, I fear my ground sometimes resembles the most arid desert.

  3. Thought provoking post! Interesting and a reminder to accept the rain into our lives when it falls!

    I love rain–both physical and spiritual.

  4. kikikaria says:

    Beautiful post! I was just listening to a song the other day that talked about the River of God and how it gave them joy and set them dancing. My initial response was, “Why would a river give you joy and make you want to dance?” I was thinking in modern days and not in bible days where they lived every day in survival mode. A river means water and life and sustenance! That’s enough to make me dance and have job. I then thought of a scripture that I really like that says:
    There is a river, the streams whereof shall make glad the city of God, the holy [place] of the tabernacles of the most High. Psalms 46:4. Thank God for natural water and spiritual water!

    Karen, such a beautiful scripture that is so relevant to this discussion. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

