End of the Journey

Ending of the Journey, originally uploaded by Shirley Buxton.

She was never a close friend of mine, but through Jerry’s ministerial relationship with her son Leon Frost, who pastors The First Pentecostal Church of Bakersfield, I met her some years ago, and often spoke briefly with her when I visited that church. I do not even know her first name, but when I heard of her death a couple of weeks ago, I was saddened.

The sadness has little to do with her; rather it circles ’round her family and her friends, for I know they are grieved at her passing, and when again, I visit that beautiful church in Bakersfield, I, too, will miss my little visit with that beautiful, white-haired woman of God. Her lovely face invariably radiated with love and care, and, although she was quite elderly, when I was there, she seemed to make it a point to come where I sat and to speak with me. She made me feel she went out of her way to visit with me, but I strongly suspect she had the knack of making everyone think she was special, and that this godly woman had gone out of her way to speak to her.

Death is much like the end of a journey, and although we don’t go into its reaches with suitcase and other travel gear, we do take one thing with us–an important record–the tale of our life. When we make the trek to the other side and have ended our journey, we unpack, and there in the presence of God–our record is handed, and is told.

My little friend from Bakersfield, Ca. has negotiated the final trip and now stands in the presence of God. Her journey is done, her suitcase is empty. Surely it is a glorious day.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christianity, Devotionals, Family, God, Love, Love of God, Pentecostal, religion, Rest, supernatural, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to End of the Journey

  1. Kevin Hopper says:

    Shirley, it is always as time of mixed emotions when a child of God passes on. But we know that we will see them again1 We can take comfort in that fact! She has now joined the cloud of witnesses mentioned in Heb 12:1!

    One of these days we will all be singing around the throne!!
    God bless you!

    A happy day that will be.

  2. helenl says:

    I am sad for the family of your friend, who will surely miss her?

    Off subject question: Do you happen to know A Sandra (Sandi) Mitlesteadt ( I think her husband’s named Rick) in Bakersfield? I know she’s pentecostal but am not sure which affiliation. We grew up together in Joplin (and my dad grew up with her dad).

    Helen, at least by name I don’t know your friend. In my circle of friends, Bakersfield is lovingly referred to as “the Bible belt” of California. There are many Pentecostal churches there. The two I am most familiar with have several hundred members, and of course I am not personally acquainted with many of the people who attend there. Is Sandi a minister’s wife?

  3. Hi Shirley, thanks for stopping by my blog and for your comment. It is nice to meet you!

    I love your post. It reminded me of many wonderful ladies that I have had the privilege to know growing up in church that have passed on.

    Hi, Alana. Welcome to my site. Hope you’re here often. If it’s okay, I’m adding you to my blogroll. God bless you.

  4. Lou (Linda) says:

    I went to the memorial service of my excellent friend, Scott today. After enjoying perfect health his entire life, he died at age 55 of pancreatic cancer. To the very end he served those around him and was steadfast in his faith. I truly am a better person for having known him.

    He packed well. I will miss him, but learned much about how to pack through his wonderful example.

    It is possible, Linda, that electronic words may be perceived as cold and empty on such a day as this one when you have dealt with the death of your friend, Scott. But truly, I am sorry. I know it is a comfort to you and his other friends and family that he was such a wonderful person…and that to the end, “he served those around him and was steadfast in his faith”…that he had packed well.

    Love

  5. helenl says:

    No, Shirley. Sandi isn’t a minister’s wife, and I’m not sure she’s still in California. She went to Oklahoma for a while without her husband (and I don’t know what that was about). I’ve lost track of her, and both her parents, who still lived in Joplin, are dead. This was long shot. Thanks.

  6. helenl says:

    Shirley, I just wanted to let you know I did locate Sandy. She and her husband still live in Bakersfield, but she also spends time in Washington.

Leave a Reply

