The Listening

I believe he said the city was Madrid where he and his family were with a real estate agent, going through the complicated process of finding an apartment. He stood on the street of the bustling city as cars and buses roared by, while swarms of people clicked their way up the sidewalk. Their beautiful Spanish language was spoken in quick, fluid sentences.

They won’t listen to you.

They won’t listen to you.” It was not a voice, but as clearly as were a man speaking to him, Missionary Wiggins heard the message. It was heavy and bleak, and suddenly a grey overwhelming spirit enveloped him.

He turned and looked around him. The traffic in the street roared on, the masses of people continued their surge along the sidewalk, ignoring him and his family. Quickly, he moved from his place and joined the wave of people.

What am I doing? Why have I brought my family to this strange place? I can’t even understand the language, even though I have studied and thought I was prepared…they speak so rapidly…What am I doing here?

They won’t listen to you,” again the grey impression gripped him.

Suddenly as he moved with the crowd, his head tucked, he felt a hand on his shoulder. He turned, and looked into the eyes of Pablo. “Sir, I will talk to you.”

The missionary stared as the young man continued to speak in extremely broken English.

“I want to be your friend…I want to learn English…we will walk through the city…I will show you..”

The missionary was astonished, jolted to a stop, whirled around, and locked into the eyes of the young man, as Pablo concluded his plea. “I will listen to you.”

Oh, my friend, let me remind you today of the negative voices that accost our ears, that determine to snatch away our Calling, that fight to squash our faith; to divert us from our Mission and to discourage and depress us. Let us not be fooled, let us not hear the voice of the enemy, but rather press past those sounds and those black impressions. Quickly, we must regain our footing and see again our Vision. We must listen intently to the voice of the Master who urges us ever onward.

(I heard Missionary Wiggins speak this account last Sunday night. I’m not sure I have the city correctly identified, and am sure I do not have the young man’s name accurately depicted. The story, though, is true, only these details may be in error.)

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christianity, Devotionals, God, religion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Listening

  1. If only we can silence those voices that discourage, and tune our ears to the still, small voice of Jesus. Thank you for this post. It reminds me to put filters on my ears so that I allow only the anointed voices to influence me.

  2. Tena says:

    Oh, how this post spoke to me today. Thank you for sharing, Sis. Buxton. I’m sure it is from the Lord, just for me.

    God has been dealing with me for many months, stronger as time moved on, until I finally said, “Yes, Lord, I will do what you want me to do.” So, I have begun to do this thing that God has asked me to do – I began last Sunday.

    Since then, I’ve had voices. They have said, “What are you doing? Who do you think you are that YOU can make a difference. You who have faults, weaknesses, and failings. You aren’t good enough to think that you will make a difference.” But, I KNOW what God has asked me to do. I know the sacrifice I must make. And, so, onward I go, with this word of encouragement here in your blog, Sis. Buxton. I WILL obey the voice of God and ignore the voices of the “grey impression”.

    God bless you, Sis. Buxton, for I know, without a doubt, God is using you to minister to many people, through your blogs. I love you.

  3. Kevin Hopper says:

    Shirley, thanks for sharing this story today! Sometimes we get frustrated with all the naysayers and scoffers.

    When I feel those spirits rising I find a place of prayer and just lose myself in the Spirit of God. He walks with me through the valleys and leads me back to the mountain top.

    God bless you!

  4. writeathome says:

    Thanks for sharing this encouraging story.

  5. Catherine says:

    A word for me, from the Lord thru you, anointed vessel.
    Thank you. I love you.

Leave a Reply

