The Arms Beneath

“The eternal God is thy refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms: and he shall thrust out the enemy from before thee; and shall say, Destroy them.” Deuteronomy 33:2

I had slept fitfully for a few hours, when just before 2:00 this morning, I awoke, worried. I padded to the study, found the number and called the hospital.

“I’m Shirley Buxton, Rebecca Cowen’s mother. How is she?”

A few hours before, my beautiful daughter had been admitted to the hospital. My beautiful daughter for whom life has shown an unusually jagged edge, and to whom rugged challenges have been thrown. My beautiful daughter who is of strong determination and who is up to it all; who loves God, His people, and her family.

“She’s doing well. Asleep at the moment.”

I soothed myself with God’s Word, went back to bed, and slept.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

My devotional blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, God, Word of God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Arms Beneath

  1. helenl says:

    Shirley, I will keep you and Rebecca in my prayers. There are times when our only comfort comes form the Word of God.

    Thank you, Helen.

  2. dean says:

    Becky is in our prayers. As you are Sis. Buxton I hope all will be ok. Peace

  3. Catherine says:

    Sweet Sister Buxton, my heart is with you. When one of us hurt, we all hurt. Prayers are going up, God will take care of your daughter. Strength and peace to you and Brother Buxton.

  4. Mervi says:

    There are only a select few, mostly mothers, who know the meaning of the midnite hours.

    Our prayer is for comfort for mother and the touch of our Jesus for daughter.

    Mervi

  5. writeathome says:

    Sorry to hear Rebecca is in the hospital. We will pray for her.

  6. Tena says:

    I’m prayin’ for Rebecca. I love her so much. I believe by His stripes we WERE healed.

  7. Catherine says:

    Had you on my mind this morning. It’s all in the Name – Jesus!!!

  8. tommyjoe says:

    Mom & I are praying for Rebecca and for you & Bro. Buxton. We’ll be checking back for updates. Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you (I Peter 5:7).

  9. cordieb says:

    My prayers are with you and Rebecca. I pray that all is well.
    Peace, Light, and Love,
    Cordieb.

Leave a Reply

