Three Boys, Two Mommies, and God’s Word

“And these words, which I am commanding you today, shall be on your heart; and you shall teach them diligently to your sons and shall talk of them when you sit in your house and when you walk by the way and when you lie down and when you rise up.” Deuteronomy 6:6-7

Yesterday, I received the following email from my very dear friend, Holly. I hope it’s all right with her that I publish it here. This email is a treasure to me for a few reasons:

One

I love Holly’s reminder about our close family friendship that now spans three generations.

Two

These simple pictures speak loudly to the rewards of teaching children the Word of God.

Three

The account and the pictures are a reminder of the tough job of parenting, coupled with it’s share of exciting moments.

Four

Holly refreshed my mind as to what a precious treasure is the memorized Word of God.

Hi Sis. Buxton,
Thought you might enjoy these pictures from last weekend’s BQ Tournament in Ontario. Rebecca and I sure do make cute kids! I LOVE that they’re best friends, just like me and Beck, Andrew & Adam, and you and my mom!
Nate, Ian, & Zack SO wanted to be on the same team this time – and they got their wish. They had a blast, quoting God’s Word. (While Rebecca and I had 13 heart attacks and 5 strokes from the stress of watching them!) Their team got 4th place in the Junior Division, and Ian got 1st place highest individual scorer. Wow!
Love you and miss you!!
Hugs,
Holly
Ian, Zak, Nathaniel and their coach

Mommy, Rebecca, with son Nathaniel

Holly with Number 1 quizzer. 🙂

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Children, Christianity, Deuteronomy, Devotionals, Family, Friendship, Passion, Pentecostal, religion, Word of God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Three Boys, Two Mommies, and God’s Word

  1. Jana says:

    The pictures are not showing up for me.

  2. writeathome says:

    The pictures aren’t showing up for me either, and I really want to see them.

  3. Shirley says:

    Sorry about the pictures. I had forgotten that when I take pictures off an email, although I can see them when I post them on my site, they don’t show to others. I don’t know if there is some other way I can get them over here. I merely copied and pasted, and they show clearly on my screen here.

  4. Jana says:

    You probably have to save them to your pictures first and then post them.

    Hey, Jana. I tried that, but I get a message in my photo program: Unreadable file. I’m probably doing something wrong.

  5. Pingback: buxton

  6. aprdmomy says:

    Dear Mom,
    I so wish everyone could see the pictures of the sweet boys. Priceless. Priceless too the words engraved on their tender hearts. …..Just in case someone may not know, Holly is the absolute best friend ever.

Leave a Reply

