Long Are His Promises

The words are probably not original with me; perhaps I heard them in a sermon or read them in a book, and they affected me so much, I scribbled them in a little notebook, without noting their source.

Nothing can last longer than the promises of God.

Isn’t that the neatest thought. When God makes us a promise…it is a promise. It will be kept. It will not be broken. We will not be disappointed when God makes us a promise. We can count on it, depend on its truth, and consider long its veracity. As I thought of that this morning, I turned to the 29th chapter of Jeremiah where I read these engaging words.

“…I will visit you, and perform my good word toward you, in causing you to return to this place.

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.

Then shall ye call upon me, and ye shall go and pray unto me, and I will hearken unto you.

And ye shall seek me, and find me, when ye shall search for me with all your heart.

And I will be found…” Portions verses10-12

My goodness, I love that, and while I know these words were directed to the Children of Israel concerning their captivity, I’m thoroughly convinced it is not taking them out of context to apply those same words to us–His people today. His promises are sure. Absolutely, unequivocally, assuredly…He cannot, will not fail us. When we call…He answers. When we seek…we find Him. He thinks on us–kind and loving thoughts.

Nothing can last longer than the promises of God. Take those words with you today, embrace them, repeat them, invest yourself in their significance, be joyful in such knowledge, and humbled by such revelation.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, God, Jeremiah, religion, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Long Are His Promises

  1. Thank you, thank you, thank you for those wonderful words. It lifted my spirits today. You are an awesome woman of God. I love you.

    Janiver

  2. Shirley says:

    Thank you, Janiver. I love you dearly, think of you often, and frequently pray that God will supply healing for your body, and continue to give you strength, courage, and faith.

Leave a Reply

