Pastor Applies for Liquor License for Church

“Wine is a mocker, strong drink is raging: and whosoever is deceived thereby is not wise.” Proverbs 20:1

Never before have I understood the deadly effects of alcohol. Before a year ago when Jerry and I came to Lake Havasu to establish here a church, I had little comprehension of the wide-spread devastation that results from drugs and alcohol (alcohol, of course is a drug, but somehow is often given a pass.)

When I came across this story of a vicar who is planning to sell wine and beer at his church, I was astonished, and I am ashamed of ministry that would do this and would joke about the issue. Please read the entire article, and view the video in which Britishers voice their objections.

A vicar is to apply for a drinks licence so he can sell wine and beer at his small village church.

The Reverend Geraint ap Iorwerth could be made licensee of St Peter ad Vincula Church in Pennal, near Machynlleth, close to the Powys-Gwynedd border.

He joked that there were plans to serve more than just spirits, though, with lager and wine on the menu too.

Mr ap Iorwerth said he might also open a bar with proper pub-style pumps in a new church cafe in the future.

Read more and view the video here.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, God, religion, Uncategorized, Word of God and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pastor Applies for Liquor License for Church

  1. helenl says:

    The Bible condemns drunkenness but not the drinking of alcohol. Jesus turned water into wine at a wedding party. Wine is used for communion in many churches. Monks in Europe have made and sold beer for centuries. Spirits flow at wedding parties at Catholic and Orthodox Christian weddings. It’s really only some groups Protestants who have a hang-up concerning the responsible use of alcohol. Why even doctors tell us half a glass of wine per day is good for one’s health.

    Good morning, Helen.

    Many people are of the same opinion as you–consider the teaching against alcohol consumption as merely a “hang-up,” but if you study it carefully, you will find that the Bible does teach against the drinking of alcohol. I will be writing a separate post about this important subject later today (I’ve been traveling the last couple of days and have church this morning, so I can’t get it done any sooner).

    For now please consider this verse that speaks against drinking alcohol :

    Proverbs 23:31-32 “Look not thou upon the wine when it is red, when it giveth his colour in the cup, when it moveth itself aright.” Certainly, this is referring to fermented wine.

    In regard to your citing the actions of many peoples of the world, you might want to consider the
    warning of Jesus in Matthew 15:3: “…Why do ye also transgress the commandment of God by your tradition?”

    It would be good if we could depend on doctors always being right, but we just cannot. Recall that doctors have aborted hundreds of thousands of babies.

    Hope you have a blessed day.

  2. helenl says:

    Can you “prove” your alcohol argument using only the New Testament (since Christ came to fulfill not do away with the law) and since you have stated on your other blog that you eat pork (which was clearly forbidden to the Jews in the OT)? How does Matthew 15:3 not speak to pork consumption also? Or, do you have a “work around” for pork that won’t work for alcohol?

    I hate proof-texting. It has nothing to do with living in the light of Spirit and much to do with I’m right, do it my way. 🙂

  3. helenl says:

    And, BTW Shirley, this is not an issue I feel strongly about, so I won’t keep this up for days. We just disagree. End of story.

    And also, BTW, I believe that Christians ought not insult other Christians (or cause them to stumble, as the case may be), so when I eat with Christians, such as my brother’s family, who think, as you do, that we ought not consume alcohol (no matter how moderately), I order iced tea.

    I think you will agree. This is not central to the gospel of salvation by the blood of Jesus.

  4. writeathome says:

    Hi Sister Buxton,

    When I read your post, my mind went back to a time when I was a teenager. I wasn’t raised with the beliefs that I now have, but I did go to church as a kid. There was a church situated behind our house that we would attend. One year they started selling tickets to a festival type deal they were having at the church called Cabaret. Alcoholic beverages were sold and people would go to this and get rip roaring drunk. I wasn’t living for God at that time and didn’t know beans about the Bible, but I remember feeling that this was very wrong and feeling angry. I think God used this experience to open my eyes to some things.

    If people want to drink, there are plenty of places where they can go and do it. Why bring it into a church? Putting aside the fact too, that I believe the Scripture teaches against drinking, doesn’t this have the potential to be a stumbling block? I have seen people come to church before because they are bound by drugs and alcohol and wanting help, and how would it be to walk into a church that’s partaking of the very thing with which they struggle? It just doesn’t make sense to me.

    Carol, neither does it make sense to me. Recent medical studies definitely show that the terrible effects of alcohol are more profound in people under 25 years of age. It’s shocking to me that a church would sell alcohol.

Leave a Reply

