A Ponder of Purpose

“Great minds have purposes, little minds have wishes.”
Irving Washington

Not a few times have I said, “I wish I could speak Spanish.” Having lived in California most of my adult life, I recognize that such skill has real advantage in this area of the world. But wishing into my mind the full grasp of that beautiful language has done little (more truthfully–nothing) to propel me down the Spanish Language Conquering Road. I concur with Irving Washington that “little minds have wishes.”

To redeem myself, though, I make the gargantuan leap to append myself to the first part of Washington’s post, for although I lay no claim to having a great mind, in one area, I qualify: I have purpose. I understand why I’m here on this earth, and I know what is my assignment.

My purpose and your purpose are the same. Oh, they will call for differences in working out the life details, but our base purpose is the same: we’re here to know Jesus and to tell others of His saving love.

“In whom also we have obtained an inheritance, being predestinated according to the purpose of him who worketh all things after the counsel of his own will: That we should be to the praise of his glory who first trusted in Christ.” Ephesians 1:11-12

Listen in as God speaks to Jacob–and to us, His people.

” Thus saith the LORD that made thee, and formed thee from the womb, which will help thee:…”

Let us ponder these things today. As we walk through our world, may we understand our purpose, our calling, our reason for being here. Jesus is the reason…for every season.
___________________________________________________________________________________
My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christian Service, Christianity, Church, Devotionals, Jesus, religion, Word of God and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Ponder of Purpose

  1. helenl says:

    But, Shirley, don’t you think sometimes the wishes rise from the purpose? We know our purpose, and wish for skills to carry it out more fully?

    Hi, Helen. You make a good point, and I agree that working to fulfill our purpose will open new avenues of interest, and at some time we may wish for skills we don’t have. If I understood Washington correctly, he was saying we can’t camp there, though. Wishing won’t get the job done…well unless we have a genie and a magic lamp. 🙂

    Wishing might help me start to learn Spanish, but it’s not enough. I must purpose to study and immerse myself in that new language. Often times people say to me, “I wish I could play the piano.” Now that’s a good wish, but to master the instrument, purpose must come into play…lessons, practice, etc.

  2. Yan says:

    Hi, Shirley,

    You passed by my blog once or twice and left a comment once or twice too! I just love it. I visit here often. I now blog “On my second thoughts”.

    Your sharing here nails down my little mind – great mind I don’t have, like you, I do have a purpose too. Thank you, always, for the many insights.

    I am also asking for your permission to post this sharing of yours in our Church’s blog (wmc40dop.wordpress.com) with a link. Is it ok with you?

    Blessings,
    Yan

  3. Shirley says:

    Hi, Yan.

    Thank you for the sweet compliments and for being here often. I want to add you to my blogroll, so I’ll find it more convenient to get over to your place.

    Of course you may share anything I have written. I am honored that you wish to do that.

    I wish you joy and success in your work for Jesus Christ, our Master.

  4. yan says:

    Thanks, Shirley, for your big heart for sharing! I am many in my church who are pondering on “purpose” would be inspired by your thoughts.

    I am honoured to be “connected” with you.

    May God Bless you and yours!

    You’re welcome.

  5. Joe says:

    Good thoughts Shirley…I often “wish” I knew how to serve God better, but you’ve reminded me not to “camp there”, as you remarked above. I’ll be interested to see where God leads me from here.

    God bless !

  6. Shirley says:

    Hello, Joe.

    Just yesterday as Jerry and I ate lunch with another minister and his wife, and as we talked of God’s work and of how challenging and stimulating it is, I remarked, as often I do: “Isn’t it exciting to be involved in the work of God?”

    Those words are not forced from my throat; they gush from my heart, they reflect my soul.

    So blessed are we to be so called.

    What does God want you to do? I don’t know, but this I can offer. Through every door that opens stride boldly. Do God’s work with all your strength–with passion, with humility, and with assurance.

    Come back often…please.

  7. Effovipt says:

    Tahnks for posting

Leave a Reply

