I Choose Blessed–Psalm 1

Lone Tree near Santa Maria by you.

Psalm Series Number 1

I have begun a thorough study of the Psalms, that delightful body of scripture positioned near the midpoint of the Bible, of which, the writing of seventy-six are attributed to a leader of Israel, that “sweet Psalmist,” King David. These one hundred and fifty selections are at once practical and poetic, comprising some of the most elegant writings known to man.

Godly praise and worship is the theme that is ribboned through these classic and durable writings. Many of these sections are Messianic, pointing to Jesus Christ as redeeming King, and telling of His suffering, resurrection and ascension.

Over the next months (years?) when I am not speaking to other issues and interests in this column, I plan to systematically write my limited thoughts on this nineteenth book of the Bible. I hope you will join in this little study, and respond with your own insights and considerations.

Psalm, the first, is of wide circulation, and at least portions of it are well-known to anyone who is even a casual student of the Bible. Charles Spurgeon says:

“This Psalm may be regarded as THE PREFACE PSALM, having in it a notification of the contents of the entire Book. It is the psalmist’s desire to teach us the way to blessedness, and to warn us of the sure destruction of sinners. This then, is the matter of the first Psalm, which may be looked upon, in some respects, as the text upon which the whole of the Psalms make up a divine sermon.”

Obviously divided into two opposing parts, anew today this scripture has brought me to consider my way of living; clearly I choose that of the blessed man, the one whose delight is in God’s way and God’s law, the one who is stable, and who prospers, as does a firmly planted tree. Readily do I reject counsel of the ungodly, nor will I walk as a sinner.

Verse 6 contains words that both terrify and comfort: “For the Lord knoweth the way of the righteous: but the way of the ungodly shall perish.”

________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Devotionals, Psalms and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Choose Blessed–Psalm 1

  1. Yan says:

    I will journey with you for the Psalms! Thanks for sharing the insights.

    Incidentally, I have also some thoughts here on Psalms 1 –

    Sharing with you, hope you don’t mind!

    http://yantouch.wordpress.com/2005/10/03/constantly-in-trouble/

    Hello, Yan. Of course I don’t mind your link here, for the insights of others also, is what I want here. My internet reception is poor at the moment and I couldn’t open the link, but I believe it is my problem. I will read it later.

    God bless you always.

  2. writeathome says:

    Whatever season of life I’m in, I want to be like that tree that is planted by the rivers of water. Storms may come and winds may blow against it, but that tree is firmly rooted and there to stay. I choose blessed too!

    Firmly planted, roots deep–that’s where we must remain.

    Love you…miss you…:(

  3. woundedlily says:

    Many years ago as a young adult, I memorized Psalm 1 and God has recalled it to my mind many times to remember that we are like a tree planted by the rivers of water. I agree that our counsel needs to come from God and His people and not those of the world. I am looking forward to following your study in Psalms.

    Sometimes I think we forget where God planted us! It is like when I get in a body of water and panic, my sister yells “Put your feet down”. Of course, by this time she has had to come to my side and help. Maybe next time, I’ll remember that my feet are planted. LOL

    Looking forward to your next blog. I just hope I don’t miss one.

  4. Kevin Hopper says:

    Shirley, I remember the first memory verses that I learned and quoted to my Sunday School teacher at Truth Tabernacle in Fresno was the 23 Psalm. I have always been intrigued by the Psalms.

    God Bless you! I will follow you through Psalms as you post!

  5. Joe says:

    Hi Shirley,

    I’ll plan on following you through the Psalms as you journey through them here. I look forward to reading your insights as you go along. I may follow woundedlily’s lead above on memorizing Psalm 1. What a great idea.

    God bless –

  6. Aisha Buxton says:

    One of my favorites: Psalms 91.

    I’ve heard a true account/story, used by a preacher (Lee Stoneking), speaking of Psalms 91 in a message he preached years ago;

    …that in a certain battle or war (I wished I remembered which one) every man in a particular platoon/battalion memorized the 91st Psalm. These men were the ones in front, in the heat of the battle, on the ground fighting very close to enemy lines. They were desperate.

    It was testified that every member of that platoon survived, which was a miracle; due to their circumstance, and especially when compared to other platoons. They all said that they constantly quoted this scripture and literally they felt at times that God allowed them to be “invisible” or “hidden” from the enemy, because at times the opposing soldiers passed them over when they could have easily taken their life, it was as though they did not even see them.

    I wished I could find the facts and the exact account of this story.

    I will enjoy reading your study on the Psalms!

Leave a Reply

