The Awful Laugh of God

Psalm Series Number 2

“Why do the heathen rage…” are the powerful beginning words of this Psalm that lead into several more descriptive verses of those whose face is turned from God and who rail against Him. Kings of the earth engage in such despicable behavior, and rulers connive together against God, as do the typical “man on the street.” At times such action and apparent successfulness of sinful people confuse the believer. How can such egregious conduct be ignored by God?

It is not ignored. Be assured God will not be mocked, nor will His Word be compromised. Note verse 4.

“He that sitteth in the heavens shall laugh: the Lord shall have them in derision.”

Jamison Brown comments in this way:

“shall laugh-in supreme contempt; their vain rage excites His derision. He is still the Lord, literally, “Sovereign,” though they rebel.”

Awful. Soul-frightening is it to think of  God’s looking at me and scornfully laughing. No longer will I be smug in my evil ways, nor arrogant as I ignore His commandments. My complacent Sunday nod to Christ will be mocked as I stand…before Him…and as He laughs.

I much prefer the ending verses where God says, “…You are my son,” and where the concluding 12th verse says, “Blessed are all they that put their trust in him.”

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Devotionals, God, Psalms and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Awful Laugh of God

  1. khumblani says:

    Praise the Lord ! Oh I pray that His laugh may not be on me….

    Happy Sabbath

    Praise the Lord to you also. God bless you always.

  2. Kevin Hopper says:

    Shirley, I would be a lot happier if God simply smiled at me then if he laughed at me. I want to live my life so that it is pleasing to him at all times.

    Kevin, I’m not sure I have ever thought of it in just that way: what a difference in connotation is that of being smiled at and being laughed at. Great comment.

  3. timbob says:

    Hello. It’s been a while since I stopped by as time seems in short supply these days. It’s astonishing today to see so many; even professing christians who fail to grasp the holy nature of God and the consequences of deliberately engaging in disobediance. How important it is for us to continually examine ourselves and take heed to the warning given in Hebrews 3:12. In short, rebellion is a form of unbelief; a non-grasping of the truth that, if not repented of, it will have to be answered for.

    Have a blessed weekend in Jesus. I’ll try to get by here more often.

    timbob

    Hi, Timbob. Glad to hear from you again.

    That next verse, verse 13 of Hebrews 3 tells us to “exhort one another daily, while it is called To day; lest any of you be hardened through the deceitfulness of sin.”

    That’s an amazing thought: the consideration that our speaking scripture to each other may save us from the hardness of sin.

    Blessings always–

  4. writeathome says:

    That would be awful to be scornfully laughed at by God. I pray that I can live that kind of life that would make the Lord smile.

    Carol, I believe you are…believe God smiles on you in pleasure.

  5. Pingback: Recent Links Tagged With "laugh" - JabberTags

Leave a Reply

