The Virtue of Grief

Perhaps it is because I have recently been around many people fairly cloaked with sorrow that I have considered grief and its results. Statistically, a family who loses a child is seen to be at high risk of losing their marriage. Grief and sorrow are accompanied by such stress as to fairly take down what were once solid relationships.

I see another side of grief, and as regards those who are dear to me, and who are at the moment traveling a dark and treacherous way, I’m praying that this grief will deepen our relationships, will strengthen our marriages, and especially will bring us closer to God.

It may sound strange, but I am able to see some virtue in grief. Grief and mourning bring tears–deep tears that well up from the depth of our hearts and souls. Grief softens us and makes us aware of others who may be suffering–perhaps as much or more than are we. Most important, when we are grief-stricken, if we are spiritually attuned, we may better be able to share God’s burden for this lost and mangled world. Recall that Jesus wept over Jerusalem, and that He promised comfort for those who mourn.

None chase grief, nor do we find joy in accident or misfortune, but when such come our way, let us take that occasion to examine ourselves, to reach far inside and find the virtue that resides in grief.

___________________

My other blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christianity, Devotionals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Virtue of Grief

  1. Lou (Linda) says:

    When I lost my best friend to sudden death the rubber hit the road for me. I had to decide if I was going to accept my loss as much as I would accept anything else that God had given me and learn and grow, or not. Was I going to take Him at His word, that all things work together for good to them that love God and are called according to His purpose, or not?

    I decided to go “all in” and found more life in my life than I ever could have imagined. Her death held gifts that I would have missed had I not had my hands raised up and open to the heavens…

    Hi, Linda. Thank you for taking the time to post this insightful comment. All so true, but sometimes to hard move into such depth and understanding of God and His principles.

    Love you in Jesus……

    Instead of asking “why?” I decided I would ask “now what?”.

Leave a Reply

