On Backsliding

It’s a subject that has been heavy on my heart for a long time, so much so that I am now dealing with it by writing a book: The subject? Backsliding. I’m not yet sure of the title, but have laid out the book and have written already a fair amount.

Certainly the book may change as I go along, but for now, I have designed it to be written in this way:

I. Introduction (including a significant dream)

II. Causes of Backsliding

III. How to Avoid Backsliding

IV. Backsliding in the Bible

VI. Price paid by backsliders even after they return to God

VII. Resolution of the dream

VIII. Merciful restoration

I’ve decided to share my progress with the book in this column; hope you’ll read with me, and if you have suggestions, I would love to hear them.

Beginning of Chapter 3  CAUSES OF BACKSLIDING

Closely aligned to this chapter is the next in which we talk of ways to avoid backsliding, for within the warp and woof of avoiding backsliding must be observed the cause of backsliding. I’ve chosen to differentiate between these adjacent chapters in this way: In this section the focus will be on those persons who surround, attend, and minister to those who stand a chance of backsliding, which, in the broadest sense, is anyone who is a child of God. For once a spiritual birth has taken place, backsliding is possible. Indeed, as miserable as it is to acknowledge, there is great likelihood that a falling away—a slipping back into the world—will occur.


The prime in prevention of backsliding will always rest with the individual Christian. Ultimately, I am responsible for my decisions; my advancement or regression, my growth or withering, my discernment or ignorance, my backsliding  into devilry, or my flourishing as a child of God. I reckon with the fact that when I stand before God, I will answer for my life. I fear I cannot blame my husband, my pastor, my church family, my childhood deprivation, or my family curses. I tremble at the thought. Conclusively, I am pressed to insure my own salvation. I am responsible for my final end.


Having said that, however, it cannot be disputed that a significant sum of human nurture—taking into account every aspect of his being, including his soul—comes from others. It is authentic, then, to conclude that family, friends, the church and the pastor share some responsibility for the success or failure of every person for whom some oversight has been given.


This chapter will look into that piece of the backsliding issue, certainly with no intent of faultfinding or fixing blame, but rather as part of an honest search for those tools that will effect the saving of every soul possible. From time to time this thought beats through my mind: Is it believable that someone will be eternally lost because I did not effectively teach, pray, inquire, solicit, or generally care? Did I feel a nudge in my spirit to lift a phone to my ear, to schedule a lunch, to lay a hand on a bent shoulder—and ignore all? Not a pleasant idea, nor one on which to linger.


So, although the cause of backsliding and how to avoid backsliding stand on the same line, I’m assigning a difference. In this chapter we will discuss how we as a body can help prevent our family and friends from backsliding.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Backsliding Book, Christian Service, Christian writing, Christianity, religion. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On Backsliding

  1. M.A.Pryor says:

    As I enjoy reading your blog, I am certain that this will be a great book. Look forward to reading. I never did find what you asked for, but my offer still stands. 🙂

    Brother Pryor, I experience a motley mass of emotions when I think of your reading here. I admire your intellect and ministry, so in that respect I am honored that you visit me. That same quality of yours, though, makes me nervous about your reading my writings and considering my analysis and insight. Thank you. I sincerely feel complimented.

    Thank you for the offer to minister here. We’re working on some scheduling now and will be in touch with you.

    Edit: One more thing 🙂

    I suspect that one reason this business of backsliding has gripped me so fiercely is because of my son Michael, whose story will play a big part in the book. Not sure if you know but for 25 years he was out of the church, and through a miraculous dream…….

    Now, he truly is “on fire for God,” and is a dynamic part of our church here in Lake Havasu. The sad thing, even though God has mercifully restored him, is the price he is paying for sinful decisions he made during those long years.

  2. Pingback: Topics about People-search » On Backsliding

  3. barnes alex says:

    this has been a big problem troubling me for so long since i became a true christian.and i pray that God almighty change me for a better life for Christ and also be free from pain. i will be happy if you always send me a mail on this topics that i may study and transform my life. stay bless.

    • Shirley says:

      Thank you, Barnes Alex for visiting my site, and for your comments. I have not made much progress on my book, but still feel strongly that it is something I need to do. I will get it done.

      God bless you and keep you.

Leave a Reply

