Precious Gifts; Precious Callings

Today I received these pictures from Marie Prime, who sweetly tracked me down on Facebook and sent them to me. The pictures are of my wonderful grandson, Joel Buxton. He was preaching a special meeting in Ontario, California, and from the reports I have received he did a magnificent job. His dad, my son, Steve, is shown on the fourth picture from last, his mother is in the green jacket, and his beautiful wife is pictured in the next to the last shot.

I cried when I looked at these pictures. I cried for joy; cried because I am so blessed, so honored, so favored. How privileged I am to have my family involved in the work of God. Think about it: My darlingĀ  grandson, all grown up, with three little boys of his own, having been tapped, selected, anointed by God to proclaim the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I am indeed most blessed among women. Think about it: My dad was a preacher, my husband is a preacher, my eldest and youngest sons, Steve and Andrew, are preachers. My son, Michael, though not ordained, teaches classes at our church every week, and is one of the greatest soul-winners I know. I sit today humbled and sincerely grateful, understanding that in no way do any of us deserve such gifting, such commendation, such opportunity. These are gifts of God.

When I saw these pictures today, a certain portion of scripture came to mind that I’d like to share with you this Sunday afternoon. It is found in the first chapter of Philippians, and is a letter from Paul to the saints at the church in Philippi.

“I think my God upon every remembrance of you.

Always in every prayer of mine for you all making request with joy,

For your fellowship in the gospel from the first day until now;

Being confident of this very thing, that he which hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ:

Even as it is meet for me to think this of you all, because I have you in my heart; inasmuch as both in my bonds, and in the defense and confirmation of the gospel, ye all are partakers of my grace.

For God is my record, how greatly I long after you all in the bowels of Jesus Christ.

And this I pray, that your love may abound yet more and more in knowledge and in all judgment;

That ye may approve things that are excellent; that ye may be sincere and without offence till the day of Christ;

Being filled with the fruits of righteousness, which are by Jesus Christ, unto the glory and praise of God.”

_____________

My regular blog is here.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Philippians, Preaching/Preachers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Precious Gifts; Precious Callings

  1. Shirley says:

    Yvonne M Aune Beautiful! Love it!

    (Yvonne’s comment was posted first on Facebook.)

    Thank you Yvonne was visiting my site and for commenting. I am just full of gratitude today for the opportunities and gifts with which my family has been abundantly blessed.

  2. Doretha says:

    Thank you so much for posting these, Sis Buxton. Joel has always had a special place in my heart, ever since I was privileged to have him in my 5th grade class while teaching in Rialto. He was special then, and I feel so proud of him today~~ We love the Buxton family!! God is just so good, words cannot tell it all!

  3. Shirley says:

    Sister Fields, thank you so much for this response. It has been a long time since I had thought of your teaching Joel when he was small.

    This memory adds another layer to this post, in that, even as Christian school teachers or Sunday school teachers, or youth camp workers, God blesses us with the opportunity to touch youngsters who, later in life, are going to be called of God. What a dynamic opportunity and honor this is. Thank you for what you put in Joel.

    We love the Fields family, and highly respect you.

  4. Corina says:

    This is so awesome.. I just love your wonderful Family God is doing great things.Your truly Blessed =)

  5. Shirley says:

    Good morning, Corina. Thank you for your sweet comments. Which Corina are you?–if you don’t mind letting us know.

    Have a blessed day.

  6. Faye Henry says:

    Hello Sister Buxton…
    What a wonderful post and yes you are truly a blessed woman. God is so awesome!! Our children mean so much to us and there is not anything that we as moms want then to see our children walk in Truth.. He is faithful and He will keep that which we have committed unto that day….
    God bless you…

  7. woundedlily says:

    Children are an heritage of the Lord. In our family the opposite happened. All three children and all of our grandchildren have run from God. However, we do not see the whole picture and it is our desire that before they pass from this life they too will know the Lord as their personal Savior. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

