Of Strangers and Angels

It was late, our first night there. We were in our motor home parked by the side of the church in Safford, AZ. when I heard a forceful and rapid knock. Without thinking, I unsecured both the locks and swung wide the door. A man stood there staring at me. I was startled, for our friends Pastor and Mrs. Kris Keyes had just dropped us off after a nice dinner together, and they had said they needed to go into the church for something. I expected to see one of them when I opened the door. Instead, one who appeared to be of the homeless types stood there.

The young man stared at me. Jerry was in the shower, and had the man evil intentions, he could easily have rushed me and pushed right into the motor home. I don’t know if I asked what he wanted, or if my expression did so, but he motioned across his throat and made some unintelligible mutterings. “No,” I said, and slammed shut the door.

I sat down on the couch, and immediately had regrets about slamming the door…and yet, one part of me acknowledged the wisdom of such action. But, maybe he was hungry, and I could have made him a sandwich or something like that.

This morning I told Jerry about the incident. And I thought again of this scripture.

“Be not forgetful to entertain strangers: for thereby some have entertained angels unawares.” Hebrews 13:2

While, again, I acknowledge the need for caution, I do want to be kind to everyone, including strangers. It is easy to make snap evaluations and to judge a person by their demeanor, their clothing, and by their level of skillful articulation.

This morning I learned of this person who indeed was homeless and destitute, but who now may be indeed rich. I love this story, and think you will also. Just click on the link to read about him.

To my visitor from last night, I send prayers and wishes for your well-being, both physically and spiritually. And…if you are an angel, please forgive me. 🙂

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Angels, Devotionals, Hebrews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Of Strangers and Angels

  1. Pingback: Spam and Pulled Pork in Safford | Shirley Buxton

  2. Kris Keyes says:

    Hey….that was our Asst Pastor!!!!!!

    Jeeeest keeeding…….

    By the way…I might know who that was….and I am fairly sure he is not an angel

    Maybe he will be in church today. 🙂

  3. doc says:

    i can associate with your action. our instinct for self-preservation is strong, & given the current circumstance of escalated violence in the community, this instinct will be honed to the fullest.

    did he come to church?

  4. Hello, Doc. No, he didn’t come to church, but in this downtown church, they have a couple of men who are emotionally and mentally challenged. Pastor lovingly refers to one of them as his zombie. The poor man has literally cooked his brain with drugs, and walks in a stilted, zombie sort of way. The church members care for the men, though. Pick them up in a van for the services.

    Blessings……

Leave a Reply

