God, a Newborn, and Engraving

Can a woman forget her sucking child, that she would not have compassion on the son of her womb?yea, they may forget, yet will I not forget thee.

Isaiah 49.15

Even though I have heard of such an action before, I never fail to be astonished when I hear of a mother abandoning her baby, whether it be a new-born or one of a few days or of a few years old. While I reckon with knowing there are some mothers who because of their circumstances are doing their child a favor by relinquishing his/her care to another, it startles me when I hear of a mom just walking away from her baby, without assuring that another will extend loving care to her little one.

Again this morning, I read of such an account and when I looked at the accompanying picture, I had a deep sense of sorrow for that precious baby. Charlie, the nurses are calling him.

Knowing how most people react to such an account, God spoke to the issue through His servant Isaiah, reminding us of His abiding, immutable love for us, His people. What comfort that brings me, what stability. Underneath our fears and unsteadiness is this great knowing–this knowing that God will never forget us. Strongly beneath the shaking world with its agitation and severe challenges is the sure knowledge that God is in control, that He will never forget us. He will never leave us, never abandon us.

In the next verse, God writes further:

Behold, I have graven thee upon the palms of my hands;…”

Though I’m sure this description is a figure of speech, it serves well to emphasize how deeply and closely God cares for us.

And little Charlie? I prayed this morning that someone will provide him with a loving home. His mom? I also prayed for her; wish her peace, and that she can come to know Jesus.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Children, Devotionals, God, Isaiah and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

