Moved By the Holy Ghost

“I had my hands in sink water when it happened,” he told me. “I began to tremble and knew something unique, something unexpected, was happening. I left the bathroom, sat on the edge of the bed, and picked up my phone that I use for making notes. I began to write, the words tumbling from me, rushing as a river.”

Those were the words a person very close to me related two days ago. “May I send the entire piece to you?” he asked, and when I read the long poem, I began to weep, recognizing that God had spoken to my loved one in a powerful, personal way.

Under an unction from God, the Bible was written by men–prophets, kings, evangelists, and apostles. “. . . holy men of God spake as they were moved by the Holy Ghost.” 1 Peter 1.21. The Bible is complete; nothing is to be added, nothing is to be removed. Yet it is hard to imagine any sincere Christian denying that God still speaks to people–sometimes in profound and direct ways. Holy men today are moved by the Holy Ghost; such anointing and revelation is of the Divine, and one trembles in its manifestation.

I am aware of several such occasions. I recall once many years ago that my husband came in the house, leaving the lawn mower he had been using, and sitting down to write a message that God was giving him. Jerry is a great speaker, but is not known for his writing abilities; indeed, he will say he finds no pleasure in such exercises. But the Spirit of God moved on him that day, and he wrote. On other occasions, God has spoken specifically to Jerry, one of which I will relate here. The incident was when God was letting Jerry know it was time for us to resign our church in Garden Grove, CA. and to assume the pastorate in Rialto, CA. Having absolutely no knowledge of impending change, he dreamed that Pastor Murray Layne was resigning the church in Rialto. The dream was so vivid and its effects so gripping throughout the next day that, although feeling awkward, he called Pastor Layne. Pastor Layne was stunned, and believed Jerry to be teasing him. He has just been elected pastor in Mesquite, TX. (The details of this scenario are found in my book, Road Tales.)

It never fails to impact me when I learn of God speaking to someone in a way that would be difficult for anyone to dispute as being supernatural. Such experiences graphically remind me that this life is but a moment. In a second we will be gone. Reality is unseen and of the Holy.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christian writing, Christianity, Devotionals, Holy Ghost, II Peter, Preaching/Preachers, supernatural, Word of God. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Moved By the Holy Ghost

  1. Linda says:

    WOW! Yes, “to be moved on by the Holy One” is a great experience! I did not know about the call from Bro. Buxton to Daddy. How interesting. I love when God takes control. Love you!

  2. Linda, after all these years, I never fail to be amazed–even startled sometimes–at the moving of the Holy Ghost. How blessed we are. How blessed to be involved in such as this.

    Love you so much. Perhaps I’ll see you in Louisville in a couple of weeks.

  3. pfcairns says:

    Enjoyed your post very much. ‘Godincidence’ are very real. We need to learn to ‘be still’ and listen.Ps46.

  4. Thank you Dr. Cairns. I do appreciate your visiting my site and making this comment. Briefly I read your blog and will return there.

    God. The Holy Ghost. What a subject. One that far exceeds the limitations of the human mind. Yet the slight grasp we have of the Wonder of God is thrilling and uplifting. Truly otherworldly.

    blessings to you and yours.

  5. Brad Rothman says:

    Thank you for writing this post. So timely. Isn’t it amazing how God works? God bless you!

  6. God bless you, Brad, and all you do for Him. Thank you for visiting my site. Hope you will return.

    I have a new book that is to be released tomorrow. Take a look if you’d like.

    http://writenow.wordpress.com/2011/09/29/backsliding-the-bitter-bite-of-beelzebub/

Leave a Reply

