An Abundant Utterance

They shall abundantly utter the memory of Thy great goodness, and shall sing of Thy righteousness. Psalm 145:7

As I read in Genesis this morning, it struck me anew how amazing it is that God created everything! With His words and with His thoughts and with His hands (?) He structured all.

Verse 26 of Genesis says, ” . . . Let us make man in our image, . . . ”

and as I read there, I saw that in a previous reading of this portion of Scripture I had noted Ephesians 1:11. I turned there to read.

In whom also we have obtained an inheritance, being predestinated according to the purpose of Him who worketh all things after the counsel of His own will:

So, then, not confusing are the words let us. God took counsel with Himself! Job confirms this understanding when he points out that God alone was the creator.

He alone stretches out the heavens and treads on the waves of the sea. Job 9.8 NIV

What a stunning world we inhabit. On New Year’s eve, Jerry and I walked beside the creek pictured above that feeds into Lake Gregory. The weather was mild, the beautiful tree pictured below was perfectly lighted; God’s creation was magnificent. I so want to always speak of His wonder, His goodness, His love.

___________________

I have been writing this blog for several years now, and it astounds me that my blogs have been viewed more than one million times. I’m humbled and grateful for your interest.

In recent months, though, there have been substantially less visits here, and very little interaction–few comments. I’m thinking a couple of reasons account for this: First, I have been posting less here and more frequently on Facebook, often with a link to a post here. I like Facebook, quickly hear what my friends are doing some days, and have made connection with people I hadn’t heard from in years. That’s all nice, but there is a lack of depth to Facebook, and not frequently do persons engage in thoughtful and a bit deeper conversations. Also, when comments are made on Facebook about a blog post here, they feel “lost” to me. They are not posted with the article in question, and take lots of scrolling around to find them.

So, because I enjoy writing, and because I especially enjoy your interaction, I’ve decided to no longer routinely link my articles to Facebook, and am hoping to increase traffic here. I may pop over to your place with a link every now and then as an invitation to come visit me here. Remember that you can subscribe to this blog so that you will be notified when I make a new post.

I want to hear from you. Please comment when you have interest about something I’ve written.

Blessings always…and a wonderful new year!

_________

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Bible, Christianity, Creation, Devotionals, Ephesians, Genesis, Job. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to An Abundant Utterance

  1. Pingback: To See. To Hear. « Shirley Buxton

  2. “God took counsel with Himself”…that is a great way to explain the phrase..”let us…” Always looking for a way to explain that in a home bible study..as that seems to asked alot…Thank you!! God Bless!

    • Amazing how those Scriptures fit together, isn’t it. Love God’s Word and the revelation that comes through reading and study.

      Thank you for being here on my site. Hope you read and comment often. Blessings on you, your loved ones, and your work for Him.

      Shirley

  3. Mary Hynes says:

    Dear Shirley,
    I’m new to your blog and I’m glad to read that you are going to focus on this more than facebook, You’re right, there’s a better connect with the blog here. Looking forward to more of your writings in 2012.
    Mary

  4. Cheryl S. says:

    I enjoy reading your blog posts. I find them interesting & uplifting.

  5. Happy New Year, Sis. Buxton. I’m glad to hear you will be posting more on your blogs. I am reading in Genesis too, as I am doing the BREAD program along with others in our church. Genesis is my favorite book in the Old Testament, and it seems like every time I read it, I always see something new. Of course that happens with a lot of the Bible reading I do, not just in Genesis.

    Hope you and Brother Buxton will have a wonderful 2012.

    Love,
    Carol

    • Carol, I love you and it is so good to hear from you. We’ll be doing a book tour for my new book in the Spring, visiting some churches in the north. Hope we can get together.

      Prayers and love in this new year. Hug everybody for me.

      Shirley

  6. david says:

    i have not visited in a long time, but your blog is still beautiful, thoughtful and inspiring
    Blessed are you and may the coming year be one of great prosperity

  7. helenl says:

    Lovely, Shirley. And a wonderful reminder of just Who God Is. Thanks for dropping by my blog. Hope you are doing well. Love, Helen

  8. pfcairns says:

    Hi Shirley
    I’m new to blogging and have only visited you a few times but I can see we have lots in common; a huge admiration and love of God’s creation just for starters. I’ll be back . God bless.
    Pam

  9. Hi Shirley,
    It’s funny how you feel it is time to focus more on the blog then on the blog on facebook. I agree that it is more real and personal on the blog. And yes , it is a pain to search out people’s
    comments. God has been speaking to me about facebook in a whole. I am taking a break from it my self. My goal was to talk to family through it, but also the church family where I could feel free to speak about Christ. After being on there for at least a year now. I will say that I think a blog is a better way to go. Lord Bless You Shirley and Your family!
    Donna

  10. Aisha says:

    Thanks so much Sister! I was studying this verse this morning and the verses in your post shed so much light on it’s meaning. God Bless you!!!

Leave a Reply

