The Profound Urge of Talent

“But the manifestation of the Spirit is given to each one for the profit of all:”
I Corinthians 12:7 NKJ

Not long after I planted flowers in our wooden barrels in one of our gardens, I noticed a different kind of plant had pushed up through the earth. I couldn’t identify it, but I didn’t think it was a weed, so I left it to grow. A couple of days ago, I was astounded when I saw the plant had put on an enormous yellow blossom, and it was then that I identified the volunteer plant as a squash.

I learned again a profound lesson. Learned again, I say, for I really know this story, but the squash plant in my back yard reminded me of a great truth. It is a story of abilities and of talents and that sometimes, in others, and even in ourselves, we fail to see the gifts that are present.

Unknown to me, in my back yard was an entity so gorged with the juice of life that it pushed its way through the dirt in my flower pot, poked out its little head and said, “I’m here.” It didn’t know it was a squash; I didn’t know it was a squash, but within a seed that somehow had found its way to me, God had placed an urge, a talent, a gift.

Let me encourage you today to see the gifts in those around you, to cultivate them, to water and dig about them. Let me urge you to recognize the talent that is uniquely yours. Offer it up. It will bless us.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in 1 Corinthians, Christian Service, Devotionals, Food, Influence, Passion. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Profound Urge of Talent

  1. cat41god says:

    Very encouraging Sis Buxton. By the way, Bekah wants the yellow flower.

    The yellow flower is now gone–eaten by a critter!

Leave a Reply

