Glorious Commandments

“For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments: and his commandments are not grievous.“I John 5:3

“The law of the Lord is perfect . . .” Psalm 19:7

So cool. To accept the laws of God, to study them, to embrace them, to love them. Hmm…wonder why that should be hard for us sometimes . . . for indeed God’s laws are perfect. So when God commands me to separate myself from the world, I must not strive nor come out kicking and clawing, nor looking back . . .Why, that’s not a grievous command at all; rather my spiritual insight helps me see that because I have put on God’s holiness, He wants me pulled out from the filth and debauchery of the world . . . sets me in a special place with Him.

untitled (144 of 175)

Cool, huh?

———–Know what would be doubly cool? If you–my dynamite reader– would leave a comment on this site! Scroll down a bit and you’ll see the comment space.

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in 1 John, Christianity, Devotionals, Holiness, Psalms and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Glorious Commandments

  1. Carolyn Grogan left this comment on my fb site: Love this Sis. Buxton, I always remember being taught…. It’s easy to live for God, if you live for God hard. But it’s hard to live for God, if you live for God easy. Thank you for sharing your heart! Love you!

  2. Trisha says:

    Mrs Buxton my name is Trisha and I am reading your book Backsliding. You seem so passionate about God. I wonder will I be like this ever. At this point in my life I am praying that my soul is not purulent with bitterness and numb that I do not respond to the holy spirit. What can I do to stop playing and really seek God for a sound relationship with Him. I have blamed others and judged and criticized. I do not feel love or most of time that really love. I honestly feel as though I am protecting myself. Who do I hate as to why I am so spiritually depleted and bitter? I have lived a fools life and not sure how to start over. I really did not know God well after receiving the holy ghost and just want my misery to end. How to release once and for all and let the holy ghost flow through me again? Please pray for me that whatever I have allowed in my soul and heart will be cleansed and never to return to hinder me again. Still reading your book.

    Trisha, your post has touched me deeply, and I’m sorry it has taken me several days to respond to you. Just after you posted, we left town for a few days and had intermittent internet service. I told my husband about your situation, and we both feel intensely for you. I can’t tell from your post whether or not you are actively attending a church. My strong recommendation is that you develop a close relationship with your pastor and share these things with him. If I can help you in any way at all, please don’t hesitate to contact me. I do care about you.

    Love and blessings…..

Leave a Reply

