Danger of Comparison

Feedback from my August 24th Facebook post resonated with so many people that I sensed the subject had hit a raw nerve, and is of great importance. The response I received prompted me to also post the piece here on this blog site.

It is such a mistake to look at others to judge how well we and our families are doing, for all of us wear cloaks–as well we often should–and our private lives may little resemble the persona we exhibit. Many years ago at a Western District conference when my children were teenagers, and when things could have been much better with their relationships with God and with us, their parents, I recall observing another ministerial family and thinking how perfect they were. They were tall, handsome, beautiful people, associated with a large, successful church. I knew nothing of the bitter turmoil that was ravaging their home, and which ultimately led to divorce of the parents and the revealing of ghastly details. 

 

Paul addresses this very subject in II Corinthians chapter 10, verse 12: “For we dare not make ourselves of the number, or compare ourselves with some that commend themselves: but they measuring themselves by themselves, and comparing themselves among themselves, are not wise.”

 

20140805-untitled (63 of 187)With a slight twist to this post, I add that a few days ago Ella and I walked Winston down to the woods and back. I watched her run with him in the fading day and considered what a happy life she has . . . but I thought also of other children who look happy just as she does, but behind closed doors, chaos reigns, and such children tremble in fear. I pray for them today.

______________________

New post on my primary blog: http://writenow.wordpress.com/2014/08/26/a-moment-of-thanks/

 

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in parenting, photography. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Danger of Comparison

  1. Charlotte Mills says:

    Dear Sister Buxton – so very true! Thanks for this post! Love you!

  2. Kathy McElhaney says:

    Theodore Roosevelt said, “Comparison is the Thief of Joy.” I believe that. In every aspect of life there is someone who is smarter, better, quicker, but they are on their own journey and I don’t know its entirety.

    • Thanks for sharing that quotation from Theodore Roosevelt. I had not heard that before, but I truly believe it. Appreciate your reading my things and for your comments. Love and prayers.

  3. Wanda Fielder says:

    Loved your article! Could I have permission to reprint it in Tealightful Inspirations?

    Wanda Fielder

    • Good afternoon Sister Fielder. So great to get this note from you, and of course you may use this article. I feel honored that you would ask. Trust all is well with you and yours. My love and prayers.

Leave a Reply

