Preachers and Doctors Agree on the Evil of Tobacco

It interests me that many years ago, well before scientific studies led to the conclusion that tobacco smoking was harmful to human beings, my church taught me not to smoke, that it was not pleasing to God, and that scripture upheld such teaching.

What? know ye not that your body is the temple of the Holy Ghost which is in you, which ye have of God, and ye are not your own? For ye are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.

1 Corinthians 6:19 and 20

Those long-ago men of God spoke from the premise that since our bodies house the Holy Ghost, what we ingest must be considered with caution and with great concern. Although I have not researched the subject, I strongly suspect this position was held by most, if not all, denominations.

In relatively recent years, doctors have begun to speak to the perils of tobacco smoke, even to the extent that conversations concerning “second-hand” smoke are not uncommon. Today I came across this stunning video which graphically shows the dreadful damage smoking does to the human lung.

http://digg.com/video/watching-a-pair-of-smokers-lungs-vs-a-pair-of-healthy-lungs-is-pretty-crazy?utm_source=digg&utm_medium=email

God and His ways are far beyond our total comprehension. How it is that God’s Spirit can actually abide in a physical body is incomprehensible to me . . . yet I believe that to be so. How God’s actual presence can be felt by human beings I do not understand . . .yet I believe that to be so. How mortal men can be called by God to be His messengers I cannot grasp. . .yet I believe that to be so.

So those long ago days when I was but a child, men of God spoke as God’s messengers and taught me against ingesting cigarette smoke into my lungs. How grateful I am. How glad I listened. How happy I am to say–in all humility–that I have never smoked a cigarette.

 

About Shirley Buxton

Still full of life and ready to be on the move, Shirley at 78 years old feels blessed to have lots of energy and to be full of optimism. She has been married to Jerry for 60 years. They have 4 children, 12 grandchildren and 11 great-grandchildren...all beautiful and highly intelligent--of course. :)
This entry was posted in Christianity, Holiness, Holy Ghost, I Corinthians, video and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Preachers and Doctors Agree on the Evil of Tobacco

  1. An interesting hopeful article was published in Time Magazine several years ago that states some lung damage can be reversed when a person stops smoking. Worth reading. http://content.time.com/…/article/0,8599,1819144,00.html

Leave a Reply

